Call Us
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
(512) 280-0800
Free Consultation


Austin Car Accidents FAQ

When should I get an attorney for a car accident?

Car accidents can be tricky. Usually, if you are not injured and the accident is a minor fender-bender, it can be handled through the insurance companies without the need for legal intervention.

Sometimes, however, apparently innocuous situations can escalate quickly, so seeking legal advice should occur sooner rather than later. Read more..

How do I report a car accident?

Your first call should always be made to 911 in an attempt to get an officer on scene. The officer will complete a police report and all involved parties will receive or can request a copy within days of the accident. There are occasions when an officer is unavailable, Read more

How long do I have to report an accident?

Attempt to report the accident to police immediately, while at the scene. If there is no officer available or the officer directs you to complete form CR-2 (Driver’s Crash Report), this must be done within 10 days of the incident.

This form is to be completed only in the absence of a police report and applies when the following are associated with the accident Read More

How much is my car accident settlement worth?

Because each case is unique, the answer to this is not ‘one-size-fits-all’. Usually, settlement worth is factored into two main categories Economic Losses and Non-economic losses: Read More

What happens in a hit and run accident?

Everyone involved in an accident has the responsibility to report the accident to the police or complete the CR-2 form when applicable.

Leaving the scene of an accident without lending assistance to the injured and providing your identification and auto insurance is considered a crime Read More

Can you suffer Post Traumatic Stress Disorder from a car accident?

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) is an anxiety disorder that occurs after witnessing or being involved in a traumatic event. Being involved in a car accident can definitely cause PTSD, especially depending upon the severity of the accident. Read More

How is fault determined in a car accident?

There are three entities that play a role in the determination of fault:

  • Law enforcement
  • Insurance companies
  • Court system

Law enforcement is the first to investigate the accident. After reviewing the accident scene, taking witness statements and evaluating the accident scenario, the officer issues a report outlining how, based upon the investigation, the accident occurred. Read More

What happens when someone dies in a car accident?

In Texas, 2014 saw 3,189 fatal accidents resulting in 3,534 deaths; up 3.7% from 2013.

Drivers who unintentionally cause accidents that result in the deaths of passengers, occupants of other cars or pedestrians may find themselves charged with a crime. Read More

What is the statute of limitations as it relates to car accidents?

A statute of limitations is the period of time you have to file a claim. In the case of filing suit for an injury claim in Texas, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of injury.

The existence of the statute of limitations is important in that setting a time limit allows for the preservation of evidence, lessening the chances of documents and material evidence going missing. Read More

What can you sue for in a car accident?

The uniqueness of each case requires the oversight of a legal professional to determine exactly which damages apply, however, the following are the categories, both economic and non-economic, that apply to personal injury/vehicle accidents: Read More

How long does it take to settle a car accident claim?

The severity of the injuries and losses sustained play a huge role in determining the length of time it takes to settle a claim. Settling refers to coming to agreeable terms with the insurance company. Read More

Do you need a lawyer if you are involved in a car accident?

The short answer to this question is no. If there are no injuries and minimal damages, working with the insurance companies to get property repaired or replaced does not always necessitate the intervention of a lawyer.

A lawyer can definitely help you to navigate the system and understand your insurance policy and policy coverages and limitations. Read More

What details should I get after a car accident?

Your first call should always be made to 911 in an attempt to get an officer on scene. Once the officer completes the report, copies will be made available to all parties within days of the accident.

If an officer is not available or determines bodily injury and damage is not in excess of $1,000, each driver is required to complete Texas Department of Transportation Form CR-2 also known as the Blue Form within 10 days of the incident.  Read More

How does auto insurance work in a car accident?

Texas law requires that if you cause an accident, you are responsible for paying the costs associated with the accident.

Most insurers in Texas offer a standardized policy called the Texas Personal Automobile Policy which includes eight types of coverage. Below is an overview of each coverage type, what it pays, and who it covers: Read More