Call Us
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
(512) 280-0800
Free Consultation


How Long After a Truck Accident Can I File A Claim

In Texas car accident cases, there are usually three types of claims; personal injury, property damage, and wrongful death. Each carries a two year statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is the period of time you have to file a claim. In the case of filing suit for an injury claim in Texas, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of injury.

The existence of the statute of limitations is important in that setting a time limit allows for the preservation of evidence, lessening the chances of documents and material evidence going missing and lessening the chances that witnesses would have forgotten important elements of the case.

It happens that some injuries don’t present immediately. Additionally, it is not always immediately evident the extent of necessary therapies needed to restore a victim to some semblance of normalcy. This is why the state allows victims two years from the date of the accident to bring the suit.

If you fail to file suit within the two year time frame, the court will likely not accept your claim.


Contact Us Today!
Contact Us

(512) 280-0800