Round Rock Rideshare Accident Lawyer
An experienced Round Rock rideshare accident attorney can assist you with identifying the types and amounts of insurance coverages available to compensate you for your losses, and help you maximize your recovery. Call Loewy Law Firm today at (512) 280-0800 to schedule a no-cost, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Round Rock Uber and Lyft accident attorney.
Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft have completely changed the way we commute. However, rideshare drivers drive many miles every day, which increases their chances of either being involved in an accident or causing one.
Our law firm represents individuals in Texas who were injured because of somebody else’s negligence. In most cases, when a negligent driver injures another person, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance company will compensate the injured party for their damages. And that is also the case when the accident involves a rideshare driver.
However, if you or a loved one was injured in an accident caused by a rideshare driver, recovering compensation for your injuries and losses may not be as easy as rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft would like you to believe. The amount of insurance available to cover your damages will largely depend on which stage in the rideshare process the rideshare driver was engaged when the accident occurred.
How An Experienced Round Rock Rideshare Accident Attorney Can Help
Insurance companies try to pay out as little as possible for each claim. This is where the assistance of an experienced rideshare accident attorney will benefit you.
The right Round Rock accident attorney can assess the merits of your rideshare accident claim, help you understand the confusing mix of insurance coverages that may be available to cover your injuries and losses, and ensure that you are treated fairly by the at-fault party (be that Uber, Lyft, or a third-party driver) and their insurance carrier.
If you are injured in an accident with a rideshare vehicle, as a passenger, pedestrian, or a driver or passenger of another vehicle, you should consult with a qualified rideshare accident lawyer as soon as it is safe to do so.
Compensation For Rideshare Accident Claims
Compensation for a rideshare accident claim requires proving who caused the accident and the amount of your damages, which may include:
- Compensation for medical expenses related to the accident
- Lost wages while recuperating from your injuries
- Loss of future income due to permanent disability
- Compensation for pain and suffering
Determining who was at fault for the accident – the rideshare driver or another driver – is important to collecting compensation from the responsible party’s insurance policy. If the rideshare driver was at fault, it is possible to sue the driver for your damages. However, there is no guarantee that you will be able to collect sufficient compensation from the at-fault driver.
In Texas, every driver must carry liability insurance at a minimum of $30,000 for death and/or injury per person and $60,000 for death and/or injury per accident. In addition, every driver must carry at least $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
However, if you were seriously injured in an accident caused by a rideshare driver, these low amounts may not provide enough to fully cover your damages. Furthermore, if the driver only carried personal auto insurance, any claim against that policy faces denial because it is not commercial auto insurance, and does not cover carrying a passenger for hire.
If another driver is at fault, or if the drivers share fault for the accident, then a claim may be made against the insurance coverage carried by the other driver who was at fault. But again, it may be challenging to collect full compensation if the other driver is uninsured or underinsured.
Rideshare Insurance Requirements In Texas
To close the insurance gaps that exist in the rideshare process, Texas has passed laws requiring all rideshare companies to ensure that their drivers carry more than the state’s required minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. Either the driver or the rideshare company must provide this coverage, but the rideshare company is ultimately responsible for covering damages caused by their drivers during the rideshare transaction.
Because of this, rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft cover each of their drivers with third-party liability insurance in the following amounts:
During Period 1:
- $50,000 for death and/or injury per person;
- $100,000 for death and/or injury per accident; and
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
During Periods 2 & 3:
- $1 million for bodily injuries and property damage, as well as, $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident, which covers accidents caused by another driver who does not have any auto insurance or not enough to cover your losses.
Period 0 – The rideshare driver is using their vehicle for personal reasons and is not logged onto the rideshare app.
Period 1 – The driver has logged onto the app and is waiting for a ride request.
Period 2 – The driver has accepted a ride request and is en route to pick up the passenger.
Period 3 – The driver has picked up the passenger and is transporting the passenger until they exit the vehicle at their chosen destination.
This means that if you were injured in an accident caused by a rideshare driver engaged in periods 1 – 3 of the rideshare process, instead of having to make a claim against the driver’s personal auto insurance policy, you should be able to make a claim against the rideshare company’s insurance, which provides more certainty and higher coverages. However, this does not mean that it will be any easier to receive fair compensation for your injuries and losses.
Contact Loewy Law Firm: Round Rock Rideshare Accident Attorney
If you or a loved one was injured in an accident with a rideshare driver in Round Rock, contact Loewy Law Firm to arrange a free consultation with an experienced Round Rock personal injury attorney. You will not pay any fees unless we recover compensation for you.
Contact us at (512) 280-0800 or fill out our contact form to arrange a free case evaluation. We have been protecting the rights of accident victims in Texas since 2005.