Penalties for Drunk Driving in Austin
Penalties for being arrested and subsequently convicted of driving under the influence vary from state to state. Penalties may even vary in different jurisdictions. Across Texas, penalties for drinking and driving are consistent from city to city and county to county. If you are convicted of drunk driving in Austin, this is what you can reasonably expect.
When you are convicted for your first DUI, you may be given a fine that does not exceed $2,000. You will be confined to the county jail for no fewer than three days and no longer than six months. If you had an open container in your vehicle at the time of your arrest, the minimum term of confinement is six days.
You can also expect the judge to order that you perform community service for no fewer than 24 hours and no more than 100 hours. You may also face the typical probation period of one to two years. Conditions of your probation will be handed down to you by the judge presiding over your case.
When you are arrested for your second or greater DUI, you must post bond to be released from jail. You will also be required to install a deep lung air device in your vehicle and utilize it while your charges are pending.
For a second offense, your fine cannot be greater than $4,000. You will be confined to the county jail for no less than three days and no more than one year. You will be ordered to perform no fewer than 80 hours of community service and no more than 200 hours of service. You may also be sentenced to probation, the conditions of which will be set by the judge.
A third DUI is an automatic felony in the state of Texas. You will face a fine up to $10.000 and up to two years in prison. You will be ordered to perform no fewer than 160 hours and no more than 600 hours of community service. Your license will be suspended for at least 180 days. Your lawyer may be able to work out a deal that allows you to spend time in a rehabilitation facility instead of the penitentiary.
If you are convicted of intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter, your penalties increase dramatically. Those penalties include a fine that does not exceed $10,000 and, for assault, a prison term of no more than 10 years. For manslaughter, your prison term will not exceed 20 years.
If you have been injured by a drunk driver, you need an attorney to represent you. Contact our offices today so we can begin helping you put your life back together. Call now.